Trips to or within Poland

In the past 15 years I have been to Poland many times and sometimes I feel like I know this country better than mine. I have especially been following traces of Jewish life in Poland and made some exciting discoveries I would like to share with you. It does not have to be only Warsaw, Cracow, Wrocław and Lódź but also cities like Białystok, Zamość, Łancut and Lwow. Today Lviv in the Ukraine make us feel again what Jewish life in Poland meant.

Depending on how much time you have, we can visit the following places:

2013-08-06 21.34.51
Remuh Synagogue Cracow
JÅdisches Museum Warschau (12)
Jewish Museum Warsaw

The Classical Tour: Warsaw and Cracow or Łódź (three days) – What we find today of Warsaw‘s Jewry is very limited, but at least the most important synagogue of the Polish Jews is still there. The Prozna street offers you an idea of pre-war Jewish Warsaw. A must-see is the Historical Jewish Institute, where you can see how life in the Warsaw Ghetto was after having seen traces of the Ghetto and the Ghetto uprising. The two Finnish architects Rainer Mahlamaeki and Ilmari Lahdelma a built the Museum of Polish Jewry, whose permanent exhibiton is planned to open in 2014.

It is a three-hour train ride to Cracow. The Jewish neighborhood Kazimierz has become famous for Spielberg’s movie “Schindler’s List”. On a walking tour we will experience how Jewish life was here in the past, walking past the synagogues that are today partly still in use or museums. They are all worth visiting. The Jewish community of Cracow numbers about 150 members today. The “Galicja Museum“, which was founded by Chris Schwarz from Great Britain, has a very interesting permanent exhibition of Jewish traces in contemporary Poland. From here it is not far to the Cracow Ghetto and Schindler’s factory, which has been turned into a museum about Jewish life under the occupation.

Birkenau-5_kl

Auschwitz is another day-long excursion: Auschwitz 1 can only be visited in larger groups with a guide from the museum. This is not the case in the death camp Auschwitz 2 Birkenau; Auschwitz Monowitz no longer exists. I learned a lot about the camps from my friend and Holocaust survivor Noah Klieger, and I would like to pass that on to you.

The Warsaw visit can also be followed by a trip to Łódź. Immediately we think of the ghetto that existed longer than the others, between 1939 and 1944. The Jews represented a third of the entire population of the city and one third of the owners of (mainly textile) factories were Jews. The Jewish cemetery is the biggest in Europe with 180,000 tombs. I am always fascinated by the Memorial of the Radegast train station, from where the deportations to the concentration camps in Auschwitz and Chełmno were organized.

Krakau Ghetto_kl
Square of the ghetto fighters, Cracow

Wroclaw and Cracow (three days): Wroclaw/Breslau is a city characterized by the German Jewry and from which famous rabbis like Hermann Cohen or Leo Baeck emerged. The synagogue “White Stork” was restored by Norwegian artist Bente Kahan, who financed the works. The Jewish cemeteries bear witness to a very active Jewish German society that once lived in the city. The families of Abraham Geiger and Ferdinand Lassalle are buried here.

2013-08-07 14.55.02
Schindlers Factory Today

The Jewish neighborhood Kazimierz has become famous for Spielberg’s movie “Schindler’s list.” On a walking tour, we will experience how Jewish life was here in the past as we walk by the synagogues that are today partly still active or have been converted into museums. They are all worthwhile to visit. The Jewish community of Cracow numbers about 150 members today. The “Galicja Museum,“ which was founded by Chris Schwarz from Great Britain, has a very interesting permanent exhibition of Jewish traces in contemporary Poland. From here it is not far to the Cracow Ghetto and Schindler’s factory which was turned into a museum about Jewish life under the occupation.

Zamosc Szczebrzeszyn Warszawa Juli 2007 039
Synagogue Zamość

The East of Poland: Lublin – Majdanek – Zamość – Kazimierz Dolny (minimum 4 days): Lublin is considered the Jewish Oxford, although we can only find a few traces that bear witness to the scholarship that existed there. Very close to the city one of the German death camp is located: the concentration camp Majdanek. Zamość looks like a small city from a fairy tale that was designed by Jan Samojski in the 16th century as an Italian renaissance town. Its recently renovated synagogue dates back to the beginning of the 17th century. Kazimierz Dolny is very small but attractive for Jewish travelers: the former synagogue has a small Jewish museum with judaica. The trip can conclude in Warsaw.

Przemysl Synagoge_kl
Przemysl , Synagogue

From Cracow to Lwow (5 days minimum): Both cities are full of Jewish history, but what about the places in between? One of the most beautiful synagogues I have ever seen is in Łancut, but there are also synagogues in Przemyśl and Jarosław, though unfortunately in a relatively desolate state. Please note that Lwow is in the Ukraine, which is not a member of the European Union.

Reisen nach Polen

In den letzten mehr als 15 Jahren bin ich oft in Polen gewesen und manchmal habe ich das Gefühl, das Land besser zu kennen als mein eigenes. Im Besonderen bin ich den Spuren des jüdischen Lebens in Polen nachgegangen und habe dabei allgemein bekanntes überprüft und neues entdeckt. Es müssen nicht nur Warschau, Wrocław, Łódź oder Krakau sein, auch die Provinz etwa Białystok, Zamość, Łancut oder Lwow (heute Lviv in der Ukraine) bieten Einblicke in das einst so reiche jüdische Leben in Polen.

Je nach Zeit und Interesse können wir folgende Orte besuchen:

2013-08-06 21.34.51
Remuh Synagoge Krakau

JÅdisches Museum Warschau (12)Der Klassiker: Warschau und Krakau (3 Tage) – vom jüdischen Warschau bleibt nur ein Hauch, immerhin die wichtigste Synagoge in Polen, die noch heute die Juden der Hauptstadt eint. Die Prozna Straße vermittelt einen Eindruck vom Vorkriegs-Warschau. Eine Spurensuche des einstigen Ghettos und des Ghettoaufstandes sollte mit dem Besuch des Historischen Jüdischen Instituts verbunden werden. Nach den Plänen der finnischen Architekten Rainer Mahlamaeki und Ilmari Lahdelma wurde Museum für die Geschichte der polnischen Juden erbaut, dessen ständige Ausstellung 2014 eröffnet wird.
Mit dem Zug geht es nach Krakau – Kazimierz, das bekannt wurde durch Spielberg’s Film „Schindler’s Liste“. Auf einem Spaziergang durch das jüdische Viertel erahnen wir, wie es in vergangenen Jahrhunderten war. Es geht vorbei an den Synagogen von Kazimierz, die heute teilweise wieder für Gottesdienste oder als Museen genutzt werden. Die jüdische Gemeinde Krakaus zählt heute etwa 150 Mitglieder. Das „Galicja“ Museum, das vom Briten Chris Schwarz ins Leben gerufen wurde, beherbergt eine interessante ständige Fotoausstellung über jüdische Stätten in Polen. Von hier ist es nicht weit bis zum Krakauer Ghetto und zur Werkstatt von Oskar Schindler, das neuerdings als Museum für die Geschichte der Krakauer Juden zur Zeit der Besatzung dient.

Birkenau-5_kl

Auschwitz als Tagesexkursion: Das Lager Auschwitz I kann in größeren Gruppen nur mit einem Führungsassistenten der Gedenkstätte oder individuell besichtigt werden. Dies gilt nicht für das Vernichtungslager Auschwitz II Birkenau; Auschwitz Monowitz existiert nicht mehr. Vieles über das Lager habe ich von meinem Freund und Holocaustüberlebenden Noah Klieger erfahren, was ich gern weiter geben möchte.
Warschau kann ebenfalls mit einem Aufenthalt in Łódź kombiniert werden. Sofort denkt man dabei an das Ghetto, das länger als andere zwischen 1939 und 1944 existierte. Die Juden repräsentierten ein Drittel der Gesamtbevölkerung der Stadt und ein Drittel der Eigentümer von Fabriken (hauptsächlich Textilindustrie) waren ebenfalls Juden. Der Jüdische Friedhof ist der größte in Europa mit etwa 180.000 Gräbern. Ich bin persönlich immer sehr beeindruckt von der Gedenkstätte am Bahnhof Radegast, von wo aus die Deportationen in die Konzentrationslager von Auschwitz und Chełmno organisiert wurden.

Krakau Ghetto_kl
Plac Bohaterów Getta, Krakau

Wroclaw und Krakau (drei Tage): Wroclaw / Breslau ist eine Stadt, die vom deutschen Judentum geprägt ist, und aus der zahlreiche berühmte Rabbiner wie Leo Baeck oder Hermann Cohen hervorgegangen sind. Die Synagoge „Zum Weißen Storch“ ist aus privaten finanziellen Mitteln der norwegischen Künstlerin Bente Kahan wieder zu neuem Leben erweckt worden. Auf den Friedhöfen Breslaus finden wir u. a. die Gräber von Ferdinand Lassalle oder der Familie von Abraham Geiger: deutsch-jüdisches Leben par excellence.

2013-08-07 14.55.02
Schindlers Fabrik heute

Mit dem Zug geht es nach Krakau – Kazimierz, das bekannt wurde durch Spielberg’s Film „Schindler’s Liste“. Auf einem Spaziergang durch das jüdische Viertel erahnen wir, wie es in vergangenen Jahrhunderten war. Es geht vorbei an den Synagogen von Kazimierz, die heute teilweise wieder für Gottesdienste oder als Museen genutzt werden. Die jüdische Gemeinde Krakaus zählt heute etwa 150 Mitglieder. Das „Galicja“ Museum, das vom Briten Chris Schwarz ins Leben gerufen wurde, beherbergt eine interessante ständige Fotoausstellung über jüdische Stätten in Polen. Von hier ist es nicht weit bis zum Krakauer Ghetto und zur Werkstatt von Oskar Schindler, das neuerdings als Museum für die Geschichte der Krakauer Juden zur Zeit der Besatzung dient.

Zamosc Szczebrzeszyn Warszawa Juli 2007 039
Synagoge Zamość

Der Osten Polens: Lublin – Majdanek – Zamość – Kazimierz Dolny – Warschau (minimum 4 Tage): Lublin gilt auch als das jüdische Oxford, obgleich heute nur noch wenige Spuren davon zu entdecken sind. Unweit der Stadt befindet sich eine der Todeswerkstätten der Deutschen – das Konzentrationslager Majdanek. Zamość ist eine Bilderbuchstadt, die von Jan Samojski im 16. Jh. nach italienischem Muster angelegt wurde. Die Stadt ist im II. Weltkrieg nicht zerstört worden, so dass das gesamte Ensemble inklusive einer mittlerweile restaurierten Synagoge vom Beginn des 17. Jh. bestaunt werden kann. Kazimierz Dolny – klein, aber voller Reize. Die Synagoge beherbergt ein traditionelles jüdisches Museum mit vielen Judaica. Ein kurzer Aufenthalt in Warschau kann angeschlossen werden.

Przemysl Synagoge_kl
Przemysl Synagoge

Von Krakau nach Lwow (5 Tage minimum): Beide Städte sind zweifelsohne voller Spuren jüdischen Lebens, aber welche Orte befinden sich dazwischen? Eine der schönsten Synagogen, die ich bisher gesehen habe, befindet sich in Łancut. Auch in Przemyśl und Jarosław existieren noch Synagogen, leider teilweise in einem erbärmlichen Zustand. Beachten Sie bitte, dass die Stadt Lwow in der Ukraine liegt und diese nicht zu den Ländern der Europäischen Union gehört.