Jewish Berlin

Hackescher Markt
Around Hackescher Markt

Berlin: “Jewish Neighborhood” or the Barn Quarter: Today everyone goes there because it is so fancy and they want to see all the new boutiques, art galleries, cool bars and restaurants. At the same time, we find many traces of Jewish history: Berlin’s first synagogue, which was built between 1712 and 1714, after Jews had come to Berlin from Vienna in 1671. Next to it we find the Rosenstrasse Memorial, created by Ingeborg Hunzinger in memory of the so-called “Fabrikaktion.“ In front of the building, non-Jewish women protested in 1943 for the release of their Jewish husbands from incarceration. What is the truth about this silent protest? Tour 1 and 2

Workshop of the Blind, Owned by Otto Weidt: Everyone knows Oskar Schindler from Spielberg’s movie “Schindler’s List”, but most do not know Otto Weidt, a silent hero and a “Righteous among the Nations”, who employed blind and deaf Berlin Jews working in his small brush and broom factory. Today it is a museum in the partially authentic rooms. Walking through Berlin we often stumble over little stones that give information about people that were murdered by the Nazis – Gunter Demnig from Cologne had the idea for this outstanding decentralized memorial also known in other European cities. Tour 1 and 2

Otto Weidt Otto Weidt (5)

Stolpersteine

Street of Tolerance: Grosse Hamburger Strasse with the first Jewish cemetery, the Jewish High School, the Old Senior citizen’s home of the Jewish community, which was, during the Holocaust, used as an assembly point for the Berlin Jews to be deported.

Neue-Synagoge-300x225

The New Synagogue – Centrum Judaicum present and past: The exhibition in the first three rooms of the Synagogue reflects the eventful history of the Synagogue and depicts current Jewish life. How many Jews live in Berlin today? How many Jews live in Germany and what makes them want to live in this country? Will there soon be only Jews from the former Soviet Union in the Jewish communities throughout Germany? Tour 1 and 2

Adass Isroel

The Orthodox Community Adass Israel: In 1869 the Jewish community of Berlin, like in other German cities, was divided into an Orthodox and a reform branch. The former Jewish hospital is located next to the site of the former synagogue of Adass Israel. After WWII it became the Jewish orphanage AHAWA – led by the unforgettable Beate Berger. Tour 1 and 2

Synagoge Rykestrasse

Jewish Eastern Berlin: Germany’s largest synagogue is located in the former worker’s district Prenzlauer Berg, which is nowadays a trendy and upper middle class neighborhood. It was renovated between 2004 and 2007, but can only be “visited” during the Shabbat services. Nearby is the second Jewish cemetery, which contains the tombs of Max Lieberman, Gerson von Bleichroeder, James Simon, Abraham Geiger, Giacomo Meyerbeer, as well as the old seniors citizens home, which is today a modern apartment house. Tour 3

The Jewish Cemetery in Weißensee: I personally like the Jewish cemetery in Weissensee very much because it enables visitors to take a wonderful journey into Berlin’s and Germany’s Jewry from 1880 until today. There are about 115,000 tombstones there. They all form a microcosm telling world history. I would like to demonstrate this by showing you the tombs of a selection of several famous people buried here. Tour 3

JÅdisches Museum (5)Visit of the Jewish Museum: The Libeskind building looks strange, huge and provocative. Let us stroll through the permanent exhibition (about 2 hours) and get to know its fascinating architecture, or we can also choose to look at a certain part of the exhibition. 2,000 years of German-Jewish history are plenty for various tours. Tour 2

Memorials: There are a lot of memorials in Berlin reminding visitors of the violation of basic human rights, persecution and extermination of the Berlin Jews. These were built mainly in the 1990’s. Why not earlier? What had happened? The biggest memorial is the one dedicated to the murdered European Jews, which was designed by American architect Peter Eisenman. Be JÅdisches Berlinsure to see the empty library by Micha Ullman (Tour 4), or the memorial in Levetzowstrasse, or the Bavarian Quarter, where around 80 signs unobtrusively remind us of the persecution of the Jews in the neighborhood. Train track 17 asks for the responsibility of the German Railway company for the deportations. Not far away from here is the house of the Wannsee Conference – a meeting point of state secretaries and representatives of the NS organizations.* (Tour 3) In May 2010 the new information center “Topography of Terror” was opened to the public. The exhibition attempts to explain the perspective of the perpetrators. Tour 2

*Since nobody is allowed to guide in the house of the Wannsee conference, the visit is without a guide but of course we can discuss the topic before and after the visit.

Memorial Site of the Former Concentration Camp Sachsenhausen: The camp is perhaps not as well-known as the extermination camps of Majdanek, Auschwitz, Bełżec, Sobibór or Treblinka, but a model camp for concentration camps that housed their headquarters. You will need five hours to visit Sachsenhausen. Tour 5

 

Feel free to piece your tours together as you wish. As a specialist on Jewish history, I’d be glad to put together a customized program for you for your time in Berlin.

Jüdisches Berlin

Hackescher Markt
Rund um den Hackeschen Markt

Berlin Scheunenviertel: Heute redet man viel darüber, wie „in“ das Scheunenviertel ist mit seinen zahlreichen Boutiquen, Galerien, hippen Bars und Restaurants. Gleichzeitig finden wir hier wichtige Spuren jüdischen Lebens der Stadt: die erste Synagoge, die ihnen nach der Neuansiedlung der Juden vom preußischen König zugestanden wurde. Nebenan in der Rosenstr. das Denkmal von Ingeborg Hunzinger, das an den Protest der Frauen im März 1943 gegen die Inhaftierung ihrer jüdischen Ehemänner erinnert – Legende und Wahrheit der „Fabrikation“? Touren 1 und 2

Blindenwerkstatt von Otto Weidt: Jeder kennt Oskar Schindler, aber nicht Otto Weidt, einer der Gerechten unter den Völkern, der zwischen 1940 und 1943 blinde und gehörlose Berliner Juden in seiner Fabrik zur Herstellung von Besen und Bürsten beschäftigte. Heute finden wir hier ein Museum in den teilweise originalen Räumen der Werkstatt. Touren 1 und 2

Otto Weidt Otto Weidt

StolpersteineOftmals stolpern wir über Steine mit kurzen Informationen über Menschen, die von den Nationalsozialisten ermordet wurden – das Projekt Stolpersteine von Gunter Demnig.

Die Toleranzstraße: Große Hamburger Straße mit dem ersten jüdischen Friedhof, dem jüdischen Gymnasium und dem Jüdischen Altersheim als Sammelpunkt für die Vorbereitung der Deportation der Berliner Juden.

Neue-Synagoge-300x225

Neue Synagoge – Centrum Judaicum heute und damals: Die Ausstellung in den Vorräumen der Neuen Synagoge belegt die bewegte Geschichte dieser Synagoge und zeigt jüdisches Leben im Vergleich zum aktuellen Berlin. Wie groß ist denn eigentlich die jetzige Gemeinde? Wie viele Juden leben überhaupt in Deutschland und warum? Sind es bald nur noch sowjetische Juden in den deutschen jüdischen Gemeinden? Touren 1 und 2

Adass Isroel

Die Orthodoxe Gemeinde Adass Isroel: 1869 spaltete sich die jüdische Gemeinde in Berlin in eine orthodoxe und eine reformierte. In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft der ehemaligen Synagoge der orthodoxen Gemeinde befindet sich das einstige jüdische Krankenhaus, später AHAWA – jüdisches Kinderheim, dessen unvergessliche Leiterin Beate Berger war. Touren 1 und 2

Ahawa

Jüdischer Osten Berlins: Im Szenebezirk Prenzlauer Berg befindet sich Deutschlands größte erhaltene Synagoge, die zwischen 2004 und 2007 instand gesetzt wurde und seitdem wieder nach „typisch Rykerithus“ die Beter einlädt. Unweit entfernt finden wir den zweiten jüdischen Friedhof mit den Gräbern von Max Liebermann, Gerson von Bleichröder, James Simon, Abraham Geiger und Giacomo Meyerbeer. Daneben steht das Gebäude des Jüdischen Altersheims, das zu einem Wohnhaus umgebaut wurde. Tour 3

Jüdischer Friedhof Weißensee: Persönlich mag ich den jüdischen Friedhof in Weißensee besonders, ist er doch eine Reise durch das Berliner oder deutsche Judentum von 1880 bis in die Gegenwart. Insgesamt sind hier etwa 115 000 Personen begraben. Sie alle bilden einen Mikrokosmos, der Weltgeschichte erzählt. Anhand einer Auswahl von Grabstätten möchte ich Ihnen diesen näher bringen. Tour 3

JÅdisches Museum (5)Besuch des Jüdischen Museums: Imposant, provokant und interessant sieht das von Libeskind gestaltete Jüdische Museum aus. Verschaffen Sie sich einen allgemeinen Überblick über die Ausstellung und Architektur (ungefähr 2 Stunden) oder wählen Sie einen Schwerpunkt. 2.000 Jahre deutsch-jüdischer Geschichte sind genügend Stoff für mehrere Führungen. Tour 2

Gedenkstätten: Derer gibt es in Berlin viele, die an die Entrechtung, Verfolgung und Vernichtung der Berliner Juden erinnern. Diese wurden vornehmlich erst in den 90er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts geschaffen. Was war passiert, warum nicht vorher? Das größte Denkmal ist das von dem amerikanischen Architekten Peter Eisenman JÅdisches Berlingestaltete Denkmal für die in Europa ermordeten Juden. Bekannt ist zweifelsohne die von Micha Ullman geschaffene leere Bibliothek auf dem Bebel-Platz (Tour 4), aber außerdem imponiert auch das Denkmal in der Levetzowstraße oder im Bayerischen Viertel, wo recht unscheinbar etwa 80 Schilder an die Verfolgung der Schöneberger Juden erinnern. Beim Besuch von Gleis 17 stellt sich die Frage der Mitschuld der Deutschen Reichsbahn und ihrer Mitarbeiter an der Organisation der Deportationen aus Berlin. Ganz in der Nähe gelegen ist das Haus der Wannsee-Konferenz oder eher doch der Ort eines Arbeitsessens von Staatssekretären und Vertretern des NS-Apparates.* (Tour 3) Im Mai 2010 wurde das neue Informationszentrum „Topographie des Terrors“ eingeweiht, das versucht, der Frage nach den Tätern im Verhältnis zu den Opfern nachzugehen. Es wird erneut der Anlauf unternommen, auf die Frage: Wie war denn das möglich gewesen? Antworten zu finden. Tour 2

*Der Besuch der Wannseevilla ist individuell, da das Haus niemandem von auswärts erlaubt, Führungen zu geben.

Gedenkstätte des ehemaligen Konzentrationslagers Sachsenhausen: Das KZ Sachsenhausen – etwa eine Autostunde von Berlin in nördlicher Richtung gelegen – ist auf den ersten Blick nicht so bekannt wie etwa die großen deutschen Vernichtungslager in Auschwitz, Lublin (Majdannek), Bełżec, Sobibór oder Treblinka, spielte jedoch eine wichtige Rolle als Zentrale der Konzentrationslager. Für den Besuch der Gedenkstätte sollten fünf Stunden eingeplant werden. Tour 5